The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 21 July 2008, 08:38 AM   #1
danpatjoe
"TRF" Member

My Grandfather's Rolex... Help!

Hello All....

This is the watch I refered to in my introduction. It was my grandfather's watch (he passed away in 1969). As far as I am aware, this is the watch he wore daily, and the signs are on it! I have been told it was a present from his wife on their wedding day back in 1934.

So, a far from mint condition watch indeed, but this one is priceless to me in sentimental value. I apologise in advance for my amateurish descriptions but I am new to this game and do not know the correct technical terms.

The watch itself, is gold, rectangular in shape with an art-deco style face. Please ignore the awful 'Multiflex' strap, I'm sure this was probably a 60's replacement. It has an independent second dial, but the hands from the main dial pass over this one unlike on the 'Prince' models.

The face itself has lost a lot of the detail/faded over time and looks like dust has gotten in behind the crystal (which itself has many small scratches), mainly at the 11 and 5 corners. It looks like a 2 tone design. The hands look to be of blued steel.
The ROLEX name has all but disappeared with only a trace of black colour remaining in the 'E'. However, when held at an angle the word is legible even to the naked eye, but extremely difficult to photograph or scan! See picture below - the 'R' looks like a 'P' in this picture, but I am positive it is an 'R', as when held differently it is visible. It is in a different font from the modern logo, without serifs.
There is no trace of any crown logo at all, and I don't believe there ever was one. No other wording visible anywhere else on the face.