The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > General Topics > Open Discussion Forum

Old 30 January 2024, 11:15 AM   #1
56scooter
"TRF" Member

Should I be offended?

Just wanted to reach out to fellow watch enthusiasts and get their thoughts on a situation that just recently came to light. It involves an idea for a promotional watch that evidently has come to fruition. Somewhat long winded but if you have a moment please read on.

I have been collecting watches for approximately 15 years. I started collecting when my three children finished college and my wife and I had run out of ideas for Christmas presents. She totally surprised me with a watch from an aviation themed company. That was the beginning of going down the rabbit hole. I was so taken by the watch and brand that I soon became an extremely good customer of their New York Boutique. As a result I had the opportunity to meet a great deal of celebrities and the President of the brand’s United States operation. A casual friendship developed and we always exchanged pleasantries whenever we met. In fact, during this time period I had the occasion to dine with him at lunches and dinners that were held in conjunction with their promotional events.